New Horizons Get Schooled Blog

Why You Want Certification in Amazon Web Services (AWS)

Why You Want Certification in Amazon Web Services (AWS)“Amazon Web Services continues to dominate a global cloud-infrastructure services industry that hit almost $70 billion last year, grabbing a market share equivalent to that of the next four public cloud providers combined.”

Let that roll around in your head for a while. AWS alone sold as much cloud service as Microsoft, Google, IBM, and Alibaba combined.

Where there is more market share there is more opportunity which means more jobs. It stands to reason that AWS environments need four times as many people as any of the other.

To put this in perspective consider that, according to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, of the 7,858,000 jobs open in the United States, 131,000 are in the “Information” industry and 1,327,000 are in “Professional and Business Services”. Various other surveys estimate more that two million open IT jobs, but the US BLS is clearly the most reliable. So let’s just say there are 200,000 cloud IT jobs open seeking someone with the right skills.

100,000 jobs are likely to be AWS environments. The other 100,000 jobs are split among the next four, but average 25,000 open jobs each. Average salaries for AWS-certified positions are all well above $100,000 with AWS Certified Solutions Architect reported to be the highest paying of all certified jobs.

Which of hundreds of thousands of jobs that pay hundreds of thousands of dollars would YOU like to qualify for?

Among Your Choices of AWS Certifications

Given the size and complexity of AWS, the architecture of their learning paths is remarkably simple. According to Business News Daily, “AWS currently offers one foundation, three associate, two professional and three specialty certifications. Altogether, there are five categories:

  • Architecting: These certifications recognize professionals who design and deploy distributed systems on the AWS platform. Candidates can start with the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate and move up to Professional.
  • Developing: These certifications identify people who develop and maintain applications on AWS. The entry-level certification is the AWS Certified Developer – Associate, followed by the AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional.
  • Operations: To support architecture and development, the AWS platform must be managed and optimized. The associate-level operations certification aims at system operators (SysOps) administrators. Because SysOps and DevOps are so tightly bound, this category includes the AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional as the upper-level certification.
  • Cloud: An AWS foundation-level credential, the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner Cloud focuses on AWS Cloud technologies, concepts and security. The Certified Cloud Practitioner serves as a prerequisite to the AWS specialty certifications or as preparation for associate-level credentials.
  • Specialties: AWS specialty credentials focus on skills related to specific technologies, including networking, big data and security.”

AWS certifications generally cost less to achieve than most other providers’ programs, and there’s plenty of diversity in what path you can choose for your career to go in.

Getting Started

More available jobs, making more money, with more diversity of careers to choose from. Reason enough to contact your New Horizons Career Counselor today to learn more about how you get started moving up your chosen path.



New Horizons Computer Learning Centers Amazon Training and Certification


Posted on 7/28/19 1:51 PM by Get Schooled in aws, in amazon

Get Schooled

Written by Get Schooled

Search by Topic

    Lists by Topic

    see all

    Be at the center of it all.


    Knowledge Ninjas

    a web-based service that allows software application end users to access a subject matter expert in real-time via a chat interface to resolve questions or problems they encounter in their specific software.