Overwrite deleted data WITHOUT a 3rd Party Program

Posted on 4/26/10 3:19 PM by Get Schooled in cipher.exe, in Windows deleted data, in overwrite deleted data, in Tips & Tricks

Deleting files doesn't erase them from the hard disk, as many criminals convicted by digital evidence have learned the hard way. When you delete a file in Windows, by default it just goes into the Recycle Bin. It can easily be discovered there and restored. Even after you empty the Recycle Bin, though, the data isn't gone. Windows simply removes the pointers to it from the file table and marks that space on the disk as reusable. Until it's overwritten by new data, computer forensics experts can still use special software to recover it.

0 CommentsContinue Reading →

    

Subscribe

Posts by Topic

see all

Lists by Topic

see all