New Horizons Get Schooled Blog

Single Source of Truth: Levels of ITIL Certification

Best Practices’ Single Source of Truth: Why You Should Certify for ITIL Version 4Best Practices. Who says they’re best? Who decides which are the best practices and which are not?

As regards IT, the most widely accepted definitions and descriptions of best practices are to be found in  the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL). ITIL is considered by most professionals to be the best approach to Information Technology Service Management (ITSM).

Drawn from both the public and private sectors, many service professionals consider ITIL certification to be the pre-requisite for any other technology training and certification. Those with a demonstrated and proven knowledge of ITIL are in high demand to fill the growing list of hundreds of thousands of open job requisitions available in the US IT market today. With each higher level of ITIL certification you achieve, the more dramatically your likelihood of winning the position you want most increases.

The stated purpose in constructing and making available this extraordinary body of work is to “help individuals and organizations use IT to realize business change, transformation, and growth.”

Comprehensive, Career-Defining Certification Series

ITIL, which will soon be in its fourth major iteration, offers a comprehensive curriculum of certifications to the IT professional who is either entering the market or seeking further growth. ITIL 4 embraces and incorporates all of the most popular approaches to service management, integrating collaborative frameworks such as Lean IT, Agile and DevOps into a single, seamless approach. The levels are named:

ITIL Foundation Level

  • Those who require a basic understanding of the ITIL framework
  • Those who want to understand how ITIL can be used to enhance IT service management
  • IT professionals or others working within an organization that has adopted ITIL.

ITIL 4 Foundations

ITIL Practitioner Level

  • ITIL Practitioner covers the Continual Service Improvement (CSI)approach as the way to structure any improvement initiatives.
  • ITIL Practitioner also covers three key areas crucial for success of any improvement initiatives: 
    • Organizational Change Management
    • Communication
    • Measurement and Metrics.

ITIL Intermediate Level

The ITIL Intermediate certifications are divided into two categories:

  • Service Lifecycle
  • Service Capability.


ITIL Expert Level

Aimed at those who wish to demonstrate knowledge of the ITIL scheme in its entirety and the certificate is awarded to candidates who have already attained a range of ITIL certifications and have a well-rounded knowledge and skills base in ITIL best practices.

ITIL Master Level

The ITIL® Master certification validates your ability to apply the principles, methods and techniques from ITIL in the workplace. To be eligible for the ITIL Master certification, you must:

  • have achieved the ITIL Expert certificate; and
  • have worked in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial, or higher management advisory levels.

Step Up

Those wishing to step up and amp up their IT career and compensation should begin now to prepare for the release of ITIL 4 next Valentine’s Day, February 14, 2019. Hiring managers will be scanning job boards and resumés for those who hold certifications at every level.

Talk to a Career Counselor at New Horizons Computer Learning Centers to learn more about the courses required to achieve each level of certification. Beyond being the best investment you’ll ever make in yourself, you will learn what it truly takes to deliver superior IT services.

UPDATE: ITIL 4 has released the First course in their ITIL 4 Update. Learn More!

New Horizons Computer Learning Center ITIL Training

Posted on 12/3/18 8:00 AM by Get Schooled in ITIL, in ITIL 4

Get Schooled

Written by Get Schooled

Search by Topic

    Lists by Topic

    see all

    Be at the center of it all.


    Knowledge Ninjas

    a web-based service that allows software application end users to access a subject matter expert in real-time via a chat interface to resolve questions or problems they encounter in their specific software.